After VP Debate AEI scholars provide comments and reactions

After Biden and Ryan squared off last night, the following AEI scholars and experts are available for comment and reaction on the topics of politics and public opinion, economy and taxes, healthcare policy (including Medicaid/Medicare), foreign policy/defense, and education:

Politics and public opinion:

Karlyn Bowman (kbowman@aei.org): public opinion, polling
Michael Barone (mbarone@washingtonexaminer.com): political commentary

Economy and taxes:

Alex Brill (alex.brill@aei.org): tax policy
Andrew Biggs (andew.biggs@aei.org): pensions, Social Security, retirement issues
Alan Viard (aviard@aei.org): tax policy
Alex Pollock (apollock@aei.org): banking, housing (Fannie and Freddie)
Matt Jensen (matt.jensen@aei.org): tax policy

Healthcare policy and Medicaid/Medicare:

Jim Capretta (jcapretta@eppc.org) – former OMB health policy official
Thomas Miller (tmiller@aei.org) – former Joint Economic Committee Senior Health Economist

Foreign policy and defense:

Danielle Pletka (dpletka@aei.org): Middle East (Iran, Libya, Egypt, Syria), foreign policy
Mackenzie Eaglen (mackenzie.eaglen@aei.org): Defense budget, effects of sequestration

Education: K-12 and higher education:

Frederick (Rick) Hess (rhess@aei.org)
Andrew Kelly (andrew.kelly@aei.org)

Please contact michael.pratt@aei.org (202.862.5823) if you need further assistance.

Also Visit
AEIdeas Blog The American Magazine

What's new on AEI

image The Census Bureau and Obamacare: Dumb decision? Yes. Conspiracy? No.
image A 'three-state solution' for Middle East peace
image Give the CBO long-range tools
image The coming collapse of India's communists
AEI on Facebook
Events Calendar
  • 21
    MON
  • 22
    TUE
  • 23
    WED
  • 24
    THU
  • 25
    FRI
Wednesday, April 23, 2014 | 12:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.
Graduation day: How dads’ involvement impacts higher education success

Join a diverse group of panelists — including sociologists, education experts, and students — for a discussion of how public policy and culture can help families lay a firmer foundation for their children’s educational success, and of how the effects of paternal involvement vary by socioeconomic background.

Thursday, April 24, 2014 | 12:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.
Getting it right: A better strategy to defeat al Qaeda

This event will coincide with the release of a new report by AEI’s Mary Habeck, which analyzes why current national security policy is failing to stop the advancement of al Qaeda and its affiliates and what the US can do to develop a successful strategy to defeat this enemy.

Friday, April 25, 2014 | 9:15 a.m. – 1:15 p.m.
Obamacare’s rocky start and uncertain future

During this event, experts with many different views on the ACA will offer their predictions for the future.   

No events scheduled this day.
No events scheduled today.
No events scheduled this day.
No events scheduled this day.
No events scheduled this day.